Son of Ereubus (Guardians of Legend, Book 1) – J.S. Chancellor

Since time immemorial, man has lived in fear of losing his soul to the darkness of Saint Ereubus. For generations, the Ereubinians have wielded that power and ruled like gods. Three thousand years ago, Man irresolutely placed his faith in a mythical world. That world, Adoria, now holds Man’s final hope. As the last stronghold of Man is threatened, the fates of three strangers become forever intertwined and everything they once believed will be irrevocably changed as they discover that their time has run out.

My thoughts:

This book is tough to review, because there is no straight storyline in this book. This is not a bad thing in the slightest… in fact – it’s brilliant, because you are always left craving for more and more. With this series, the author is weaving a blanket, not just a scarf. There might be many storylines, but they all fit together. Some of the storylines are answered in this book, and some are not – but will be in the next book or two. I can’t wait to get my hands on them! J.S. Chancellor’s new book has seriously cut the cake of new epic fantasy.

Son of Ereubus is a character driven novel, from the points of view of a number of different characters. Ariana, the main female protagonist is a strong-willed but somewhat naïve young woman who is thrown into a world that she never believed in. Michael discovers family that he never knew he had, and Garren, well – he just doesn’t know any better. All of these characters are thrown on a journey in this book that they never expected, and they are in it together, whether they like it or not.

Son of Ereubus has a really good balance between good and evil. Parts of the book verge on fantasy horror, but I believe that horror and darkness is essential to any fantasy novel, and J.S. Chancellor does this well.

My only pressing problem now, is that I can’t decide what to rate this book as. It deserves a four star, because this debut novel is really really good, but it also deserves a five star, because the world and character building are exceptional. I am going to rate it as a five star overall, because when it comes to fantasy, I think that J.S. Chancellor has hit the nail on the head with extremely well written prose, and wonderful imagery.

I am a traditional fantasy lover from way back. My favourite fantasy books are by amazing authors such as David Eddings, Stephen R. Donaldson, Maggie Furey, David Gemmell, Trudi Canavan, Raymond E Feist,  and of course JRR Tolkein. You are probably wondering where J.S. Chancellor fits into all of this… Well, depending on where the rest of her Guardians of Legend series goes, based on the fact that I have only read the first book – I’m strongly of the opinion that her work will probably be right up there with my other favourite fantasy authors.

On a side note, I emailed J.S. Chancellor just after I had picked up this book, and read the opening chapter that introduces Garren. He is evil, and dark, and I instantly fell in love with him. Maybe I have a fascination with the darkness or something, and even though he was killing someone at the time, there was just something about this character that captured my imagination.

About Leigh K. Hunt

Leigh K. Hunt considers herself a dreamer. She disappears into worlds created within her head, and every now and then she’ll re-enter the real world for a little while before delving back in again. Leigh writes for the love of writing, the creation of new worlds, and creating new characters that she eventually considers as her ‘internal friends’. Leigh has written a number of unpublished novels, and some short fiction. Leigh supports her passion for writing by working in the world of New Zealand Treaty Settlements. At home, she is based on the Kapiti Coast, in the lovely world of marriage and the motherhood of a baby girl, and a lonely oversized tomcat. For further information about Leigh, her writing, books, and writing advice - visit her website: http://leighkhunt.weebly.com
This entry was posted in 5 Star Review, Fantasy and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Son of Ereubus (Guardians of Legend, Book 1) – J.S. Chancellor

  1. jschancellor says:

    Uber squeeee for the five stars!! Thank you so so much for reviewing the book. And of course, I can’t help but to love that you loved Garren. *sigh* I’m a sucker for bad boys myself. Just something about them …

    I’m off to go post this everywhere I can. Thank you!!!

    • 5 stars!! Yes, it was marvellous. Thoroughly enjoyed every moment of SOE, and I know that readers will too.
      In terms of bad boys – well… I think that you and I are in the same boat! Glad you liked the review. I loved the book.

  2. Tom Barczak says:

    Enjoyed your review, Liegh. It was similiar to my own. J.S. weaves with such wonderful colors.

    • She does. I admire her world building. That’s what I meant when I said that she was weaving a blanket, instead of just a scarf. Her world building is just so broad, and yet quite believable. Thank you for your comment, Tom, it’s nice to see you around.

Leave a Reply

